I pithed myself

No one did aphorism like Benjamin Franklin…except for Mark Twain, perhaps, whose wit, really, now that I think about it, was of his own special delivery.  So I guess Twain’s capacity for big truths in little sentences really wasn’t like Franklin’s–himself, a rare, unique figure–at all.

Ah, fergit it.

I guess my point here is twofold:

One, I thought that it would be appropriate before I got too far into this to establish my fondness for the absurd. The banner graphic may have served as a clue (really now, what’n hell IS that, anyway? I ask this of things that appear in my sketchbook all the time…) but to be clear, this blog will not be an entirely serious matter. Hilarity may or may not ensue. YMMV.

Two: Twain, and Franklin (and legions of others any of you may care to point out my having overlooked) were masters of short-form large truths. I’m not likely to ever claim that as a strong suit. Polonius is my co-pilot.

Still, every now and then, a nicely-distilled and possibly useful observation does come to mind. And I offer one, below.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , by dave bois. Bookmark the permalink.

About dave bois

Freelance writer with a strong pull towards environmental matters (water issues especially) that remains fueled by my study of and early-career practice in geology and hydrology. Music, food, dogs, current/political events, and visual arts combine to command much of the portion of attention not ceded to ecological concerns. Also Monty Python. I've sold a few pieces of original art and have made cab fare home playing saxophone. Native Mainah

Leave a Reply

