take a look at where you are

I haven’t offered up so much as a peep here regarding music. The realization comes as a bit of a surprise, as it’s not just a favorite topic of mine. It’s a path not chosen.

And with that, I toss up a nugget of lyrics that Mr. iPod Shuffle served for my listening pleasure, a snippet of funk-wisdom (I coin a term, but, alas, it’s redundant) from Chucklehead: Boston funk-groove-jam-rock – circus-theater outfit from the 90’s. It was my head-bobbing delight to catch these guys at every opportunity when I was living in Portland, ME. Imagine a bootyshake-inducing groove, populated liberally with fat horn lines and these really meaty, rich, angular jazz harmonic sensibilities, replete with chords that go up to eleventh. Shit, I loved that band.

Anyhow, here’s what popped up on my iPod:

Chucklehead: “Headlites” from Belly Up, 1997, Wonderdrug Records

take a look at where you are

where you are is what you are

nothing you can do but keep on groovin’ in your body car

what you think you gonna find way out front

or way behind

give yourself a break my friend

take a breather from your mind

And, tonight, that’s all I got. I like my low end fuzzy, and my thirds flatted. No wisdom offered here, no snark, no key to unlocking the challenges of sustainability, no secret recipes, no serving sugestions at all. Just a chunk of lyric from a band that a lot of people really should have heard of but never got the chance.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , by dave bois. Bookmark the permalink.

About dave bois

Freelance writer with a strong pull towards environmental matters (water issues especially) that remains fueled by my study of and early-career practice in geology and hydrology. Music, food, dogs, current/political events, and visual arts combine to command much of the portion of attention not ceded to ecological concerns. Also Monty Python. I've sold a few pieces of original art and have made cab fare home playing saxophone. Native Mainah

One thought on “take a look at where you are

Leave a Reply

