bookstore kismet

I don’t recall the pretext for the thought, nor for that matter, when I had it, nor even where the hell I was–it’s just been that sort of a month, and more on that below–but at some point within the past couple weeks, it occurred to me that the significance of the cultural contribution made by the collaboration of Miles Davis and John Coltrane was beyond measure. Again, I simply don’t remember what precipitated all of that. My bad.

Anyhow, with some rare free time last night before a re-birthday dinner for my better half with a friend of ours, I ambled into and through Oakland’s Walden Pond Books on Grand Ave. I’ve long harbored a soft spot for independent book sellers. More so of late, and especially now.

And I stumbled across this: Clawing at the Limits of Cool / Miles Davis, John Coltrane, and the Greatest Jazz Collaboration Ever by Farah Jasmine Griffin and Salim Washington.

Yoink.

I’m only a round-trip BART ride’s worth of time into it (about 40 pages), but needless to say, I was delighted by the title previously unknown to me, and it’s a nice diversion during a stressful time.

To the legions of fans who check in here from time to time–all ten or twelve of you–wondering about the tumbleweed action in idecosuperecoville, all’s well enough. The seasonal nature of the day gig kicks my ass from one side of the bay to the other, grinds me into a meat nub, and saps any remnant energy I’d like to have as reserve in the tank for the creative output I’m otherwise compelled to aim to put out there.

I look forward to coughing up more regular nuggets of whatever it is I hack forth after the hellidays.

One thought on “bookstore kismet

Leave a Reply

