The intersection of Christina’s world with my own

I feel compelled to note the passing of Andrew Wyeth, who reports indicate died in his sleep overnight.

More than knee-deep knowledge of the fine arts is not a strong suit of mine. But I happened to come upon an awareness of Andrew Wyeth and his work pretty early in life. Among the parents’ book collection when I was very young was a hard-cover, first edition coffee table-style compilation of his paintings, a body of work that even upon the 60’s era release of the nearly-too-hefty-for-my-spindly-arms-to-heft tome spanned decades. I would flip through it now and then—completely unaware that many of these works were created on the coast of my native state of Maine—and would contrive to glean some manner of the stories behind his tempera revelations.

In years since, the subset of visual 2D art that speaks most clearly to me leans in more abstract if not altogether absurd directions to the detriment of nurturing any awareness or interest in more realistic approaches to the application of paint to canvas. Wyeth always stuck with me though, especially after, as an older kid, I learned both of his significance and of his ties to Maine. I certainly recall the splash made by the mid-80s’ release of his Helga series, garnering extensive media attention and (if I recall correctly) the cover of Time magazine, a rash of buzz no doubt fueled in part by some of the semi-titillating personal details of the lives of artist and model during the several years bracketing the development of this extensive series.

Arguably his best-known work, Christina’s World (included in our household’s collection mentioned above) was always especially compelling. Eventually I’d learned that the title subject was a young woman beset by polio. Years ago, on a trip to New York, I went to MOMA and saw the actual painting. As it turns out, at the same time, I was in the employ of a large industrial facility a mere few miles up the road from the Cushing, Maine location of the house that appears in the background.

That was a very challenging time in my life, personally and professionally. Upon several occasions, I’d treat myself to a short drive down this particular mid-coast Maine peninsula, and would ponder my various roadblocks. And Christina’s.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , by dave bois. Bookmark the permalink.

About dave bois

Freelance writer with a strong pull towards environmental matters (water issues especially) that remains fueled by my study of and early-career practice in geology and hydrology. Music, food, dogs, current/political events, and visual arts combine to command much of the portion of attention not ceded to ecological concerns. Also Monty Python. I've sold a few pieces of original art and have made cab fare home playing saxophone. Native Mainah

One thought on “The intersection of Christina’s world with my own

  1. Hi, Dave. My Mac’s dead (external hard drive/Erase/Add processes required), so I”m visiting under the stealth radar while using my husband’s work computer. For obvious reasons, I can’t let Sophie be associated AT ALL with his work.

    I wanted to say Hi! and tell you that this post was beautiful and haunting in itself. A New Englander myself, I get it. I’m glad you’re not in the industrial facility anymore. But you must still feel like you’re doing the cultural continental banana split with one foot in Maine and one in the Bay Area.

    Wherever you are, I’m glad you are.

    Smooch!!
    S-

Leave a Reply

