some still standing, others gone missing

In reviewing my post from yesterday, I realized that while I described a duo of newspaper vending boxes, the altered image skewed a bit dark, leaving the darker green one harder to pick out. Thought that I'd come back with the original shot as well as a smattering of supplementary altered versions.

Happy to report that my sentinels continue their vigilant watch for at least another day, but just up the block I discovered an unanticipated change to the local landscape that throws a curve at a project underway. With wood chipper in tow this morning, a work crew was doing some pretty serious pruning on our favorite neighborhood street corner fruit tree. Embarrassed to concede that I'm not certain if it's a variety of apple or cherry; what I know for sure though is at about this time yearly, it begins the slow transformation into an explosion of pink. The blossoms don't offer much by way of fragrance, but the visuals are spectacular.

Just this week, having detected the earliest hints of blossom buds as spring's warmer temps and longer daylight slowly return, I started a series of daily shots of said tree. It's a bit of a laugher, owing to the comically poor image quality yielded by my toy camera, but that's sort of the point of the toy camera exercise in the first place.

I'm pretty sure that the resolution will not allow well-defined detection of unique individual blossoms as they continue to unfold over days ahead, but I'm pretty confident that even with my jank-ass rig one will easily be able to discern the point at which entire branches have suddenly disappeared.

Posted via email from dmboisterous

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by dave bois. Bookmark the permalink.

About dave bois

Freelance writer with a strong pull towards environmental matters (water issues especially) that remains fueled by my study of and early-career practice in geology and hydrology. Music, food, dogs, current/political events, and visual arts combine to command much of the portion of attention not ceded to ecological concerns. Also Monty Python. I've sold a few pieces of original art and have made cab fare home playing saxophone. Native Mainah

Leave a Reply

